Fukuoka: Cafe & Books Bibliotheque

P1120447

Carly and I are huge fans of this lovely little cafe at the basement of Tenjin Vioro, which has never failed us whenever we need a sugar tsunami. We have this thing where a visit once a month is necessary, simply because they release monthly special flavours for their ridiculously fluffy pancakes! This was July’s, and our very last trip there before she left for Kyoto. A skyscraper of ふわふわ x infinity pancakes, crisp at the edges yet delightfully springy inside, topped with white peach and pineapple compote, vanilla ice cream, a freeze-dried navel orange slice and a little jug of tart, bright lemon curd sauce. I actually think this was my favourite of the past few times we’ve come here.

IMG_8342

IMG_8345

There are a few cafe & books bibliotheque outlets across Japan, but I think it’s only the Fukuoka one that has started their dessert buffet for the summer. Managed to bring Amos here, only to have him watch me happily stuff my face with all manners of sweets – my favourite was the passionfruit and mango paris brest and the hakuto tart. No shame in asking for extras when they ran out, and the staff were lovely enough to accommodate my bold request…I think they recognised us to my great delight and Carly’s embarrassment 😛 DIY-ed my pancakes: macerated strawberries, crumble, sliced orange, cream cheese, caramelised apples and tea infused whipped cream. Such indulgence.

IMG_8347

The passionfruit and mango creme brulee, and a little sign they made for us for the Sweets Tabe Nite! I love this place. Seeing new flavours on their Facebook page that I’m not going to be able to try in the coming months is rather depressing but I’ll just seek to recreate them when I finally fly home. Japanese pancakes are quite like no other and I’m happy to have more than had my fill here.

Cafe & Books Bibliotheque
http://www.cporganizing.com/bibliotheque/fukuoka/
2-10-3 Vioro B1F Tenjin, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka
〒810-0001 福岡県福岡市中央区天神2-10-3 VIORO B1F
TEL 092-752-7443 / OPEN 11:00-23:00

Leave a Reply

